Bluebird Down

The pursuit of domestic bliss, one glorious debacle at a time.

Unpacking kitchen appliances is not for the faint of heart July 17, 2010

Filed under: Cooking — Teri @ 7:50 pm

Oh yeah, I'm gonna lose a finger.

It took me four hours last Christmas to make a chocolate bundt cake from scratch. By the time I finished combining the ingredients, I needed rotator cuff surgery. I asked Z for a stand mixer for Christmas. It was, I like to remind him, the only thing on my list. He went in another direction. He did, however, give me the mixer for my birthday in April. And because I only cook one time a year and it’s usually desserts, I thought, “What am I supposed to do with this?” A fickle and capricious woman, as Virgil said. [In my defense, I have a personal rule that Christmas gifts may be practical, but birthday and anniversary gifts should be romantic and frivolous. Don’t know where the rule came from, but it stuck.] The mixer sat in the box until an hour ago. I moved over the toaster oven that’s never used and set the mixer up on the counter. I’m thinking inspiration is forthcoming.

The food processor was a recent purchase. I decided if I’m going to tackle this domestic existence, I should at least have cool toys. Plus I really don’t trust myself with a knife. The food and my digits will be safer now, I suspect.

 

4 Responses to “Unpacking kitchen appliances is not for the faint of heart”

  1. Allison Says:

    I’m jealous! I don’t have a food processor…..but its on my short list of must haves.

    • Teri Says:

      Amazon, girl. My mom has the same processor. She got it at Kohl’s during a Christmas sale and they applied a senior citizen’s discount. The processor from Amazon was still cheaper. And you need one — think of all the homemade baby food! πŸ™‚

  2. Zef Says:

    I’m never going to hear the end of the food mixer Christmas present am i… lol


Leave a Reply

