Bluebird Down

The pursuit of domestic bliss, one glorious debacle at a time.

Eating Pasta on an Ark while looking out of the window June 22, 2011

Filed under: Cooking,Interior Design — Teri @ 8:20 pm

I thought for sure we were going to need an ark to survive last night. Five inches of rain between 6 o’clock and midnight makes for an uneasy night. Mix in a little hail and a whole lot of thunder and lightening and that makes for a sleepless night.

It took all day, but thanks to Z’s intervention, I defeated the contractor in the Battle of the Windows for the garage restoration. I think Z tossed a coin between intervening and bailing me out of jail. The debate went from two windows to one window to no windows and all the way back around again. Two windows, it is! All the crew has to do tomorrow is install the windows (two!) and shingle the roof. Then Z and I can get back to arguing over the landscaping.

I made this for dinner to repent for the hot dog and potato chip dinner last night:

Baked Ziti and Summer Vegetables from the July 2011 Cooking Light
4 oz of uncooked ziti (I couldn’t find ziti, so I used penne. I used whole wheat instead of white. And I went way over 4 oz, so I had to double the recipe. How in the world do you measure pasta?!)
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 cups of chopped yellow squash
1 cup chopped zucchini (I used eggplant.)
1/2 cup chopped onion
2 cups chopped tomato
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 cup shredded, part-skim mozzarella cheese, divided
2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil
2 teaspoons chopped fresh oregano
3/4 teaspoon salt, divided
1/8 teaspoon crushed red pepper
1/4 cup part-skim ricotta cheese
1 large egg, lightly beaten
Cooking spray

Cook pasta. Preheat oven to 400. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add oil. Add squash, zucchini and onion, saute 5 minutes. Add tomato and garlic, saute 3 more minutes. Remove from heat, stir in pasta, 1/2 cup mozzarella, herbs, 1/2 teaspoon salt and pepper. Combine ricotta, remaining salt and egg. Stir into pasta mixture. Spoon into 8″ baking dish coated in cooking spray. Sprinkle with remaining mozzarella. Bake for 15 minutes. Serving size is 1 1/2 cups.

Now I think I’ll go dive into a big bowl of blackberries.

 

2 Responses to “Eating Pasta on an Ark while looking out of the window”

  1. Deb Says:

    I just made this yesterday & had it for lunch today. AWESOMELY YUMMY. And not too bad for ya. I’m trying to eat better (I’m not a protein or fruit person but I love some carbs). Oh, well — your blogs are wonderful and funny. Keep it up.


Leave a Reply

