Bluebird Down

The pursuit of domestic bliss, one glorious debacle at a time.

The Good, the Bad and the Ugly Just Got Uglier July 12, 2011

Filed under: Public Service Announcement — Teri @ 4:42 pm

A few weeks ago I told you about having sun damage removed from my precious cheeks. One of the areas was deemed abnormal, so I went back today to have the larger biopsy done. Wow. When Mike the Cat became Mike the Toothless Cat, I provided him with a cover story. The bar-fight-in-Tijuana story is always a good one to fall back on. I may have to reclaim it from him. Or I’ll have to tell folks that I was really at a MMA Championship last weekend and totally kicked the other chick’s butt. Or I’m a super spy and the data chip holding international secrets was hidden in my cheek. (You didn’t really think that was fat, did you?) Either way, I’m left contemplating the changing landscape of my face. Once again, I should have listened to my mother. I should have worn a hat. I should have reapplied that sunscreen. I should have avoided going out in the heat of the day. She has a pretty good case for an I-told-you-so. And now I’m going to nag you like a momma: Get a skin cancer screening, please. Do it for yourself. Do it for your family. Do it for your cute little pudgy cheeks.

 

Do not be alarmed by my crazy eye. I was trying to turn my head and take the photo. What should alarm you is the hole in my face.

 

Are you appropriately grossed out yet? Good. Call your dermotologist.

 

 

4 Responses to “The Good, the Bad and the Ugly Just Got Uglier”

  1. Anne S Says:

    yikes! Teri, I hope they got eveything and that you are OK!!!!!

    • Teri Says:

      Hi Anne! Me too! I think it’s all OK now though. Just one of those things. I hope YOU are feeling much better. I’m sending happy, healing vibes your way.

  2. deb Says:

    Don’t worry girl, I just had a little bit of plastic surgery (it’s about to be my new favorite thing…..i despise wrinkles) in May for a spot of chronic inflammation on my cheek (full frontal view) that my p.surgeon and I have been watching for 3 years. Start putting Mederma on it the second the stitches are out and it is healed. NO scabbing or picking at it allowed. Mine has healed very well, thank you!!!!! I am now a plastic surgery addict. hahahaha

    • Teri Says:

      HA! Thanks for the tip. I’m going to leave the plastic surgery to you though. I thought I was going to be sick to my stomach when I could feel my bottom eye lid being pulled while he was putting in the stitches. Yelch. 🙂


Leave a Reply

