Bluebird Down

The pursuit of domestic bliss, one glorious debacle at a time.

Happiness is a Full Belly July 13, 2011

Filed under: Cooking,Currently Reading,Food,Training Log — Teri @ 5:11 pm

I was trying to show you that the eggplant was as big as my arm from the elbow to the finger tips, but I couldn't get a good camera angle. Trust me, it was big.

Because I’m off schedule from the long weekend, Meatless Monday turned into Tardy Tuesday, which turned into Write-About-It Wednesday. I rebounded nicely though with an awesome eggplant parmesan last night. I was too lazy to saute green beans for the side, so we had sliced cheddar garlic bread from Stick Boy Bread Company via Carolina Grown. The eggplant parmesan was super easy to prepare (if not a strange choice for a 100 degree day) and turned into darn good eggplant parm on whole wheat subs today for lunch.

Easy Baked Eggplant Parmesan [A Whole Foods Recipe]

1 large eggplant, sliced lengthwise into 1/2-inch-thick pieces (about eight)
2 eggs, beaten with a fork
1 1/2 cups panko bread crumbs (sundried tomato or plain)
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil*
1 (25-ounce) jar pasta sauce (roasted vegetable or any variety)*
1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese*
1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese

Preheat oven with a baking sheet inside to 375°F. Coat eggplant slices with beaten egg, then bread with panko crumbs. Spread oil on hot baking sheet and place eggplant slices on it in a single layer. Bake 15 minutes, flip and bake another 10 minutes.

Increase oven temperature to 475°F. In an 8 x 10-inch ovenproof dish, layer pasta sauce, then eggplant, and top with cheeses. Repeat, finishing with cheese. Bake until the cheese melts and turns golden in spots, about 15 minutes.

I guess I’ll saute those green beans tonight to go with the baked scallops and red potatoes. Best laid plans.

Almost Done Reading: Bossypants by Tina Fey

Training Log: Activity: AMT, Time: 58 minutes, Calories Burned: 528; Activity: C25K W3D2, Time: 25 minutes, Calories Burned: 218, Distance: I’m an idiot. I keep accidentally hitting the reset button on the treadmill mid-run. Don’t ask.

 

2 Responses to “Happiness is a Full Belly”

  1. wow that’s huge. I did japanese eggplant this week so good. I grill with a little olive oil

    • Teri Says:

      I need to come up with other uses for eggplants. I have two more (not as large, but still big) eggplants in the refrigerator and my niece just offered me more from her garden. I’ll definitely need to move on to a new vegetable by the end of the month!


Leave a Reply

