Bluebird Down

The pursuit of domestic bliss, one glorious debacle at a time.

Insert Rocky Theme Here July 17, 2011

Filed under: Currently Reading,Exercise Follies,Training Log — Teri @ 9:57 pm

That's the name of the game, kids.

It’s less than five weeks until I run my first 5K. Thirty-four days to be exact. Now, that may seem like a lifetime to the fit among you, but I still have a long, long way to go in my training. Tomorrow I start Week Four of the Couch to 5K (C25K) program. So far the longest run sequence has been three minutes. Tomorrow will look like this:

5 minute walk
3 minute run
1:30 walk
5 minute run
2:30 minute walk
3 minute run
1:30 walk
5 minute run
5 minute walk

Luckily I have an app on my iPhone that operates simultaneously with my music. When it’s time to run a very stern lady says, “Run now!” and the screen turns red. It seems like green would have been more appropriate, but who am I to judge.

C25K is a nine week program, so I should be running three miles just in time for the 5K. I’m not even setting a pacing goal. My goal is to run the entire thing and finish. Then I’ll have a pace to work up from.

Right now I have three areas I need to concentrate on help with my running:

Stretching: Let’s face it, stretching is the math homework of exercise. No one wants to do it and slackers like me don’t do it. Pretty much the only time I stretch is after spin class. Justin will tackle you if you attempt to leave his spin room without stretching your IT Band. While I haven’t been sore, I have been stiff. And my feet, oh my feet!, are stiff. I probably need to hit up the yoga classes too.
Hydration: It drives Z absolutely nuts that I hate to drink plain water. I need to get over it though. The other day I was so thirsty while we were out running errands that I felt weak. I stood in the middle of Harris Teeter and downed a bottle of Snapple tea. I paid for the empty bottle at the checkout. Totally an avoidable problem.
Nutrition: I eat too much. But I’m hungry. And then I eat too much. Ugly cycle.
Mental: I don’t think of myself as a runner. Now in spin class I can put those skinny chicks to shame. I’m awesome on the bike. I need to feel that confidence when I’m running. I need to think of myself as a runner.

You would think I was training for the Olympics, right? Of course not. Just one of my little projects. And I can get really wrapped up in my little projects.

My Fall 5K Schedule:
August 20: Run Wild 5K at the NC Zoo, Asheboro, NC
August 27: Holden Uganda Family 5K, Fayetteville, NC
September 3: March of Dimes 5K Run for Healthier Babies, Wilmington, NC
September 10: Brunswick Family Assistance 5K, Sunset Beach, NC
September 16: Moonlight Madness 5K, Winston-Salem, NC
September 24: Poplar Grove Plantation Autumn 5K, Wilmington, NC
October 1: Women’s Only 5K, Greensboro, NC
October 8: Ardmore 5K, Winston-Salem, NC
October 15: Neuse River Bridge Run, New Bern, NC / Trick or Treat Trot 5K, Wilmington, NC
October 16: NC Oyster Festival Road Race, Ocean Isle Beach, NC
October 22: Reading Rocks 5K, Fayetteville, NC
October 23: Boos and Brews 5K, Winston-Salem, NC
October 30: Monster Dash 11, Raleigh, NC
November 5: SC Pecan Festival Run Like a Nut 5K, Florence, SC / Heels for Hope, Chapel Hill, NC
November 12: NC Holiday Flotilla 5K, Wrightsville Beach, NC
November 19: 31st Annual Turkey Trot, Pinehurst, NC
December 3: Mistletoe 5K, Winston-Salem, NC

Finished Reading: Stories I Only Tell My Friends by Rob Lowe

Currently Reading: Greyhound by Steffan Piper

Training Log: Yesterday: Activity: Spin, Time: 51 minutes, Miles: 20, Calories Burned: 500; Today: Does cleaning the kitchen count?

 

3 Responses to “Insert Rocky Theme Here”

  1. Lord have mercy, that is a lot of 5ks…a lot of driving around and a lot of money! Good for you, though, I like something that gets my day started like that. I just missed two 5ks that were in the ‘sandhills’ because I didn’t bother to check the schedules, makes me mad. That is a really cool app on your phone! I would offer to run with you sometime, but my dog and I really do run the whole time, walk a little…but not at a fast pace. Let me know if you want to do a doggy-human run, short or long, sometime in the near future.

    • Teri Says:

      Yeah, I know. I looked for 5Ks that sounded interesting… and I know people that live in most of those places, so it can be a friendly visit too. Once I get up to mostly running, I definitely give you a call for a run. Pete! can’t go though. He’s not a runner. He’s a sniffer and squatter.

  2. […] really 16 races, because two weekends are double headers, but who’s counting? When I posted my training idea last week, my friend Emily rightly pointed out that I was nuts. Actually she said something like, […]


Leave a Reply

