Bluebird Down

The pursuit of domestic bliss, one glorious debacle at a time.

Jumping In With Both Feet July 25, 2011

Maybe I need a psych eval, but I think I’m going to do it. I’m going to run a 5K every weekend for 14 weeks in a row. It’s really 16 races, because two weekends are double headers, but who’s counting? When I posted my training idea last week, my friend Emily rightly pointed out that I was nuts. Actually she said something like, “That’s a lot of races and a lot of money.” I just read between the lines that she was calling me nuts. And it was true, my original schedule was helter skelter and I hadn’t considered registration fees and traveling costs. I reconsidered, over analyzed, took notes and decided to carry on.

My Road ID bracelet arrived, just like Edward Wimmer promised.

My Fall 5K Schedule:
August 20: Run Wild 5K at the NC Zoo, Asheboro, NC
August 27: Holden Uganda Family 5K, Fayetteville, NC
September 3: March of Dimes 5K Run for Healthier Babies, Wilmington, NC
September 10: Brunswick Family Assistance 5K, Sunset Beach, NC
September 16: Moonlight Madness 5K, Winston-Salem, NC
September 24: Poplar Grove Plantation Autumn 5K, Wilmington, NC
October 1: Women’s Only 5K, Greensboro, NC
October 8: Ardmore 5K, Winston-Salem, NC
October 15: Neuse River Bridge Run, New Bern, NC [or] Trick or Treat Trot, Wilmington, NC
October 16: NC Oyster Festival Road Race, Ocean Isle Beach, NC
October 22: Reading Rocks 5K, Fayetteville, NC
October 23: Boos and Brews 5K, Winston-Salem, NC
October 30: Monster Dash 11, Raleigh, NC
November 5: SC Pecan Festival Run Like a Nut 5K, Florence, SC [or] Heels for Hope, Chapel Hill, NC
November 12: NC Holiday Flotilla 5K, Wrightsville Beach, NC
November 19: 31st Annual Turkey Trot, Pinehurst, NC

The Commitment:
Total Miles to be Completed:
49.6 (not including training)
Total Registration Fees:
$395
Total Miles to Travel Roundtrip:
2,610 (which is almost $300 in fuel costs)
Total Hours of Sleep Lost to Early Morning Drives to Races:
32

OK, so maybe I am nuts. But let’s not forget that most races are organized to support the Greater Good. This fall I will support the following causes:

  • American Association of Zookeepers
  • Clean water wells in Uganda
  • Healthy baby services
  • Family assistance services
  • Historic preservation
  • Mammograms for low-income women
  • Second Harvest Food Bank of NC
  • Library books for children
  • Cancer research
    …and…
  • Beer

Z has agreed to do any race that’s not on a Saturday, with the exception of the my first 5K that he has promised to do with me. That commits him to five runs: Run Wild 5K, Moonlight Madness, Neuse River Bridge Run, NC Oyster Festival Road Race (the last two are during our anniversary weekend) and Monster Dash 11. I can probably talk him into more. Because if you are going to be a hobbling, blistered basket case with bad knees, it’s good to have company.

53% Through Reading: A Scattered Life by Karen McQuestion

Training Log: Ironically, there was no training today.

 

6 Responses to “Jumping In With Both Feet”

  1. You are nuts, but being nuts about 5Ks is good. Maybe you can write off all your ‘donations’ during tax time? I wish I was going to be here this fall to do all this with you. Maybe in 2012? I am really jealous about the zoo one, Reading Rocks, and whichever is the beer one. But you missed one…..one BIG one!! Cancel your Mooner Dash and do this one: http://www.active.com/running/southern-pines-nc/miles-for-mira-5k-fun-run-and-dog-walk-2010 – unless your dog can’t run a 5k. Mine can, for sure! I would die to do a 5K with him. And you, of course.

    • Teri Says:

      You are on for 2012! I can’t do a run with Pete!. He would stop every two minutes to pee on his competitors. You are lucky to have a dog with manners. Oh, and the beer run (ha.) is Moonlight Madness in Winston. At the end of the run, you get free beer and Mellow Mushroom pizza. Woot.

      • Oh my god, beer can’t be good for a dehydrated runner. But I bet it will taste darn good! I bet Pete can make it through ONE 5K, right? My dog isn’t a sniffer, I don’t know why. He just likes trekking on and not stopping, even when he looks exhausted and has thrown up because he drank stream water, he still keeps ahead of me. I am really jealous of your 5K schedule!

  2. Mary Beth Says:

    Whoa…you’re hard core! And if you’re at all interested in changing things up, I’ve committed to do a 5K in Chapel Hill on Oct. 15th. It benefits the group Safe Passage (www.safepassage.org) which works with kids living on the dump in Guatemala City. I’d love to have you along!! It will be the 6th 5K I’ve signed up for…and the first I’ve actually completed!

  3. […] 18 days until my first 5K and I have a hitch in my giddy-up. I think it happened two weeks ago during cycling class. I had to […]


Leave a Reply

