Bluebird Down

The pursuit of domestic bliss, one glorious debacle at a time.

Feeding Time January 4, 2012

Filed under: 30 Day Challenge,Cooking,Food — Teri @ 6:54 pm

Oh my. It’s only Day 3 and I’m already starting to lose interest in my photo food journal. The first problem is that I have the attention span of a mouse on speed. The second problem is that my food is boring — at least in two out of three cases. I sense a challenge within a challenge coming. I gotta shake things up. Spice them up, if you will. But it will have to be next week, because this week’s meals are planned and the food is in the fridge. All dinner recipes, by the way, are brought to you by the January/February issue of Cooking Light. Brace yourself for the coming month. There is a lot of chicken and rice at dinnertime.

Today’s damage: I actually logged my food into Weight Watchers tonight. I racked up 37 points. Whoops. That’s 11 over my daily limit. Looks like I’ll need to get creative and cut back. Mercy.

 

Breakfast: Yes, again. Fiber is your friend.

 

Mid-morning snack while talking to a friend about how we want to be runners with a capital R.

 

Leftover from Panera for lunch -- with Miracle Whip Light and pepper added.

 

A tall non-fat hot chocolate with no whip before my afternoon meeting.

 

A before dinner apple.

 

Dinner: Sausage, Spinach & Mushroom Risotto. I think it would be good even without sausage, but Z thought that was crazy talk.

 

Sausage and Spinach Risotto

  • 3 cups fat-free, lower-sodium chicken broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 (8-ounce) package presliced mushrooms
  • 5 ounces sweet Italian sausage, casings removed (about 2 links)
  • 1/2 cup chopped shallots
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 cup uncooked Arborio rice
  • 1/3 cup dry white wine
  • 1 (6-ounce) package baby spinach
  • 1/4 cup (1 ounce) shaved fresh Romano cheese

Preparation

  1. 1. Bring broth and 1 cup water to a simmer in a small saucepan (do not boil); keep warm over low heat.
  2. 2. Heat a Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add oil; swirl to coat. Add salt and mushrooms to pan; cook for 8 minutes or until browned, stirring occasionally. Remove mushrooms from pan, and set aside.
  3. 3. Add sausage to pan, and cook for 3 minutes or until browned, stirring to crumble. Add shallots and garlic; cook 1 minute, stirring constantly. Reduce heat to medium. Add rice; cook for 1 minute, stirring constantly. Stir in wine, and cook until liquid is nearly absorbed, scraping pan to loosen browned bits.
  4. 4. Stir in 1 cup broth mixture; cook for 2 minutes or until liquid is nearly absorbed, stirring constantly. Add remaining broth mixture, 1/2 cup at a time, stirring constantly until each portion of broth mixture is absorbed before adding the next (about 30 minutes total). Remove pan from heat. Add mushrooms and spinach; stir until spinach wilts. Top evenly with cheese. Serve immediately.

Can we talk about feeding the mind for a minute? Work is seriously cutting into my reading time.

 

I've owned this book for about 15 years. Every year I say I'm going to read each of the 365 daily essays. I think one year I made it all the way to January 21. And this year I'm already three days behind.

 

I have very good intentions of reading this book. I've read the same 78 pages about three times now.

 

And what am I ditching all of the self help reading for? Scandal! Chapter 9 of The Girl Who Played with Fire.

 

Thoughts or suggestions on anything I’m disgusting in my belly or my head?

 

2 Responses to “Feeding Time”

  1. i decided the photo journal was just not going to happen for me, but I know it works wonders for a lot of folks 🙂 hope you keep going with the journal though, it’s worth it

    • Teri Says:

      It is helping, because I’m a visual learner. But I’m also hardheaded, so I need to combine it with calorie or points tracking. I don’t think I realized until I started the journal just how much I eat. And I didn’t realize how many calories I am consuming until I tallied it up on Weight Watchers. Yow. I’ll keep going. Thanks for the inspiration!


Leave a Reply

