Bluebird Down

The pursuit of domestic bliss, one glorious debacle at a time.

Lessons Learned January 9, 2012

Filed under: 30 Day Challenge,5K,Food — Teri @ 6:47 pm

You, too?

I went to bed last night and woke up this morning feeling less than awesome. I’ve spent the day intermittently sleeping on the couch and watching bad movies. [Have you seen Sandra Bullock’s Premonition? Don’t do it.] But all of the down time has given me the chance to reflect on my food journal.

I’ve been keeping up with my food journal even though I haven’t posted it. I was distracted for a few days by a friend’s crisis and then took a while to get back on track. As I was taught in social work school, it didn’t happen if it wasn’t documented and evaluated, so here is what I’ve learned so far.

Things I’ve Learned From My Food Journal:

1. This isn’t a shocker: I drink my calories. I know, it’s one of the first things that nutritionists, dieters, and overall fitness know-it-alls will tell you to not do. And I do it all the time. So instead of starting the day with a sugary drink (I do.), I’m moving it to the end of the day as a reward. After I drink 64 ounces of water, after my post-workout chocolate milk and after two cups of green tea, I can have a Coke. My guess is that by the time I can have the Coke, I’ll be too waterlogged to want it. Drinking Coke is my not-so secret shame. I know it’s awful for me. I know that Coca-Cola is a socially irresponsible company (and I’m usually all about using my consumer power to destroy corrupt corporations). In this case, I just don’t care. {Wait, is that the very essence of addiction?!} All of my friends tell me to drink Diet Coke. I tell them Diet Coke is disgusting, they shrug (but don’t disagree) and life goes on. It occurred to me that I need to regard Coke as I do champagne. I love champagne, but I only drink it two or three times a year. If I applied that strategy to Coke, I would have to truly tiny tush.

2. The photo journal was great because I’m a visual learner. I learned that all of my meals needed to be scaled back by about half. That was an easy, practical adjustment to make.

3. I love vegetables and I was surprised to see a lack of veggies in my journal photos. Luckily, this is another easy fix. I’ve already doubled my fresh veggie consumption.

4. I have a “I need to eat” rather than a “I’m hungry” mentality. I’m a schedule girl. I feel the need to eat based on what time it is. Rarely does my stomach growl. I could do that when I was younger. I don’t need to do it now that I’m 40.

5. I am surrounded by people who love me and accept me as I am. I’m thankful. But it does make it difficult to stick to an eating plan when you are the only one on it. Especially when you are the only one struggling to lose weight. We (family and friends alike) view a meal as celebration, as comfort, as a social activity. I don’t want to replace my loving, fun, happy eaters with neurotic calorie counters though. I need encouragement without condemnation… and world peace.

So now I know what I know. Time for less thinking, more action. My 2012 race schedule posts tomorrow. I can already see you on the edge of your seats in anticipation.

“Don’t let your learning lead to knowledge; let your learning lead to action.” Jim Rohn

 

5 Responses to “Lessons Learned”

  1. Leslie Says:

    Good for you! I love Coke, too, despite all the things you’ve mentioned above. What can I say? Also, my favorite line: “As I was taught in social work school, it didn’t happen if it wasn’t documented and evaluated.” Seriously… how many times are they going to remind me of this?

  2. Love that you are keeping a log of what you eat. Good luck with whatever goals you set, and I hope you feel better!

  3. great job on getting so much from your journal!! I think that if you are choosing the coke and not “needing” the coke that is totally fine! I am writing about that myself with general sugary treats


Leave a Reply

