Bluebird Down

The pursuit of domestic bliss, one glorious debacle at a time.

Runners to the Starting Line! January 10, 2012

Filed under: 5K,Exercise Follies,Penguins,Road Trip — Teri @ 7:16 pm

That's right.

I’ve been out of commission for the past three days, but couch time is a good time to research and organize your race schedule for the coming year. I’m going to do a mix of 5Ks and 10Ks this year. If I can successfully get through this year, I *may* work my way up to a half marathon. I like the idea of doing the Rock ‘n Roll Half in a major city or the Flying Pirate Half in Nags Head. I have absolutely, positively no desire to do a full marathon. Running is not easy for me. I don’t have the willowy limbs of a natural runner. But that doesn’t mean I can’t put some effort into it and accomplish a few miles. I just don’t want to accomplish 26.2 miles at one time.

Preach it.

2012 Race Schedule
March 3 – Saint Patty’s Run Green 8K, Raleigh, NC
March 31 – USO of NC 4th Annual Run for the Troops 5K, Fayetteville, NC -or- Cooper River Bridge Run 10K in Charleston, SC
May 5 – 11th Annual Cinco de Mayo 10K, Fayetteville, NC
June 2 – 5th Annual Airborne & Special Operations Museum Foundation Run for the Legend 10K, Fayetteville, NC
TBD – Hot Chocolate 5K, Chicago or DC

Despite being born and raised in the muggy south, I hate hot, humid days. I will not be running outside during July and August. I’ll run with limited enthusiasm in September. Give me a freezing cold race in the depth of winter any day.

I’m going to cut down on travel time this year too. Traveling to a race in the pre-dawn hours was more stressful than I thought it would be. If I can’t stay overnight near the race, I’m skipping it.

Fall races that I’ll repeat:
Moonlight Madness 5K, Winston-Salem, NC
Women’s Only 5K, Greensboro, NC
Ardmore 5K, Winston-Salem, NC
Trick or Treat Trot 5K, Wilmington, NC
Reading Rocks! 5K, Fayetteville, NC
Monster Dash 5K, Raleigh, NC
Joint Special Operations 5K, Fayetteville, NC
Turkey Strut 5K, Winston-Salem, NC
Mistletoe Run 5K, Winston-Salem, NC
Ryan’s Reindeer Run 5K, Fayetteville, NC

We have the same running form.

I tried to find races that coincided with The Official 2012 Pens Stalking Tour. No dice. I hoped participating in an organized race would keep me from chasing the team bus. If you know of a race, let me know. I’ll pay your entry fee with my unused bail money.

Tampa, Florida for the weekend of January 14-16
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania for the weekend of February 17-18
Newark, New Jersey for St. Patrick’s Day weekend {Really? No beer runs have been organized?!}
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania for Easter weekend

 

8 Responses to “Runners to the Starting Line!”

  1. jealous. There’s no races in my area for a while.

  2. Hey Ms. Blue Bird Down, I tagged you on a meme. I normally don’t do those things. It’s in a post dated 2/4/12. 🙂

  3. I can imagine what they were. Not going to give you the trite “it’ll all work out” bit, but I hope whatever journey this event makes you take you find peace.


Leave a Reply

